Thursday, June 10, 2010

The Graduates

Grantmakers in the Arts reports that the Joan Mitchell Foundation has announced its list of MFA recipients for 2010. Details are below:

(6-8-10) The Joan Mitchell Foundation's annual Masters in Fine Arts Grant Program was created in 1997 to help MFA painters & sculptors in furthering their artistic careers and to aid in the transition from academic to professional studio work upon graduation.
Each recipient receives a grant in the amount of $15,000. To date the Joan Mitchell Foundation has awarded 162 MFA Grants. These grants are given in recognition of artistic quality to artists chosen from a body of candidates put forth by nominators from the academic art community across the United States.
The 2010 recipients are as follows:
Molly Anderson, Tulane University
Janet Bruhn, Virginia Commonwealth University
Micah Daw, The Ohio State University
Michel Droge, Maine College of Art
Patricia Fernandez, California Institute of the Arts
Rema Ghuloum, California College of the Arts
Erik Gonzalez, Yale University
Kristin Haas, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
Eric Kniss, The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Jon Lee, Syracuse University
Caitlin Lonegan, University of California, Los Angeles
Cobi Moules, School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Brian Porray, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Ashley Shellhause, Miami University
Michael Sirianni, University of Illinois at Chicago
The nominated candidates' images were viewed for grant consideration through an anonymous process by a jury panel. The jury convened in April at the facilities of the Joan Mitchell Foundation.
Additional programs undertaken by the Foundation include free art classes for New York City youth, an annual grant to painters & sculptors, and grants to artists and arts communities in need of emergency support after a disaster.
To see past recipients, visit the Joan Mitchell Foundation website.

No comments: